Sunday, 8 December 2013

Woody Saturday

another busy one at the workshop planing up oak and elm.....results to follow





Sunday, 15 September 2013

Saturday, 3 August 2013

Aldeburgh sunset

Thursday night BBQ on the beach next to maggie's shell!

Seed heads

A two panel piece in oak with acrylic paint.

Tram bench

I recently found these amazing bench ends with a gothic feel. I have added new oak and it looks pretty nice. The mechanism means you can face one way or the other. Perfect on a tram .



Monday, 22 July 2013

Monday, 15 July 2013

Beach Hut News

Another revamp of the hut and I have gone a bit minimal. Out go all the old bits and bobs and with summer here it is time to make some new pieces. Here's just a taster of a few new things in photo form!







Friday, 28 June 2013

Trees

I seem to have become obsessed with trees! Especially ones blowing in the wind

Saturday, 15 June 2013

Huge table

Again a large piece of furniture . This is a board room table for a design company . Made from European oak it measures 3m x 1.8m and was a bugger to carry up three flights of stairs ! 

Monday, 29 April 2013

Oak hut

By way of a change from the furniture and pictures I have been making something a little bigger in scale. It is an entrance hut for a school in North London. It is oak framed and will have its sedum roof added quite soon. It also weighs about 3 tons.



Wednesday, 10 April 2013

Tuesday, 9 April 2013

Southwold in a box / Boat in box

I have just made a few of these. Oak, acrylic etc in a wooden box with glass front.

The little boats in boxes are quite nice too







Thursday, 4 April 2013

A little wind blown tree



Final piece

So here it is after a coat of lacquer ready to hang........ Another slab of elm is waiting for the treatment. You can buy it in the hut for £395.



Here's how I make these pictures.

Sadly I am not a great artist but I do love scalpels which is worrying and a health hazard.
I tape over a huge slab of wood, then I cut out the sections,with a scalpel,where I want paint to appear. This can I take a long time. Once done I apply the paint and leave to dry and then comes the rewarding bit of peeling everything off.